Theatre in the New Europe

Funded by the German-Czech Future Fund, the project is a continuous development of an international cooperation of artistic and scientific institutions in the Czech Republic and the Federal Republic of Germany. The project was initiated in 2002 by Dr. Erhard Ertel and Dr. Jan Roubal of the departments of theatre studies of the Freie Universität Berlin and the Univerzita Palackého v Olomouci (University of Olomouc). The aim of the project was and is to create audiovisual documentations of contemporary theatre productions in close cooperation with German and Czech students. The international theatre festival DIVADLO in Plzeň proved to be an ideal opportunity for the aim of the cooperation. It presents a large number of Eastern European theatre productions and plays an important role in the international communication of theatre cultures of the new EU-members.

In 2008, the Janáčkova Akademie Múzických Umění v Brně (Janáček Academy of Music and Performing Arts in Brno) took over the cooperation on the Czech side. This change opened up new perspectives for practical cooperation and exchange.

Since 2010 the International Theatre Institute has been the forth permanent partner of the project. Working as public documentation centre for dance and theatre, the ITI provides a central interface for the public. In addition to the cooperation in situ during the documentation process in Plzeň, in the media library, the material may be viewed by a great number of interested persons.

From the beginning, the German-Czech project has been official and supported part of the international theatre festival DIVADLO in Plzeň. Each year, chosen guest productions Each year, selected guest performances of traditional and alternative theatre work are recorded at the festival. The final product is a series of DVDs with all recorded performances, which are used in the context of scientific education and research in both participating countries, in the context of events and exhibitions as well as the festival's public relations work.

A video archive with up to now more than 300 audiovisual documentations of theatre productions has been built up. The first ideas for the PASSAGE 23°E project arose from the experiences, contacts and results of this cooperation.

Die Mediathek bleibt vom 22. bis 23.11. wegen einer Veranstaltung geschlossen!

Theater im Neuen Europa

Das vom Deutsch-Tschechischen Zukunftsfonds geförderte Projekt ist die kontinuierliche Entwicklung einer internationalen Kooperation von künstlerischen und künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Institutionen in der Tschechischen Republik und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Das Projekt wurde im Jahr 2002 von Dr. Erhard Ertel und Dr. Jan Roubal von den theaterwissenschaftlichen Instituten der Freien Universität Berlin bzw. der Palacky Universität Olomouc initiiert. Zielsetzung war und ist es, audiovisuelle Theaterdokumentationen zeitgenössischer Theaterproduktionen in enger Zusammenarbeit von deutschen und tschechischen Studenten zu erstellen. Als ideale Gelegenheit der Zusammenarbeit erwies sich das Internationale Theaterfestival DIVADLO in Plzeň, welches u.a. eine große Zahl osteuropäischer Theaterproduktionen präsentiert und eine wichtige Rolle bei der internationalen Vermittlung der Theaterkulturen der neuen EU-Mitglieder spielt.

Im Jahr 2008 übernahm die Janáček-Akademie für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Brünn die Kooperation auf tschechischer Seite. Dieser Wechsel eröffnete neue Perspektiven für die praktische Zusammenarbeit und den Austausch.

Seit 2010 ist das Internationale Theaterinstitut Deutschland als vierter ständiger Partner mit dem Projekt verbunden. Als öffentliches Dokumentationszentrum für Tanz und Theater stellt das ITI für das Projekt eine zentrale Schnittstelle zur Öffentlichkeit bereit. Neben der Mitarbeit bei den Aufzeichnungen in Plzeň ist die Mediathek der Ort, an dem kontinuierlich alle Aufzeichnungen von einem großen Interessentenkreis rezipiert werden können.

Von Beginn an ist das deutsch-tschechische Projekt offizieller und unterstützter Bestandteil des Internationalen Theaterfestivals in Plzeň. Jährlich werden ausgewählte Gastspiele traditioneller und alternativer Theaterarbeit im Rahmen des Festivals aufgezeichnet. Das Endprodukt ist eine DVD-Reihe mit allen aufgezeichneten Aufführungen, dessen Nutzung im Rahmen theaterwissenschaftlicher Ausbildung und Forschung in beiden beteiligten Ländern, im Rahmen von Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen sowie im Rahmen der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit des Festivals erfolgt.

Im Prozess der nunmehr 15jährigen Dokumentationstätigkeit ist ein Videoarchiv von ca. 300 Theateraufzeichnungen entstanden. In Reflexion der mit diesem Projekt verbundenen Erfahrungen, Kontakte und Arbeitsergebnisse entstanden erste Ideen für das Projekt PASSAGE 23°E.